

Nomination Guidelines for 2022 S. Chandrasekhar Prize

January 20, 2022, AAPPS-DPP Board of Directors

Any DPP members (excluding Chair, Chair-elect, CEO and members of selection committee) may submit one nomination or seconding letter for the prize in any given year. A nomination should include: A letter evaluating the nominee's qualifications in the light of the particular features of the prize and identifying the specific works to be recognized.

Nomination statement shall include:

- 1. Name of nominee (only one person), DPP member ID
- 2. Proposed Citation
- 3. Description of scientific accomplishments and its significance; along with reprints of 5 most significant publications with role and contribution played by the candidate for each paper.
- 4. CV of the nominee
- 5. Full list of publication with WoS citation for each paper (for possible papers recorded in WoS) and Google Scholar citation (inc. Books). Some information on published journal impact factor. You may use ResearcherID (http://www.researcherid.com/Home.action).
- 6. Nominator's name (one person) and DPP member ID.
- 7. Seconding letters from four leading plasma physicists each letter less than 3 pages. Seconding letters are not limited from DPP member.
- 8. Commitment letter by the nominee to be able to participate AAPPS-DPP2022 to give an invited talk and to write a review article to the DPP's RMPP journal and the title of the paper.

Note: Winner shall submit the paper to RMPP in about 8 months after the AAPPS-DPP2022.

Nomination shall be effective for two years but submission of updated package is welcomed. DPP shall not give not more than once of this prize to the same recipient. The names of the Prize Selection committee members will be posted on the DPP homepage only after its decision. The nomination statement shall be sent to the DPP CEO (aapps.dpp.ceo@gmail.com) electronically.

DPP calls for sponsorship for 2022 S. Chandrasekhar Prize. Medal will be contributed by PSSI. The nomination period for 2022 S. Chandrasekar Prize is Feb 7-April 30, 2022 in Japan time.

Past recipients:

2014 : Prof. Setsuo Ichimaru 2015 : Prof. Predhiman Kaw 2016 : Prof. Donald B. Melrose

2017: Prof. C.Z. Cheng, Prof. Lou C. Lee

2018: Prof. Toshiki Tajima

2019: Prof. Liu Chen, Prof. Kazunari Shibata

2020: Prof. H. Park

2021: Prof. Taik Soo Hahm



S. Chandrasekar Prize of Plasma Physics



AAPPS-DPP Board of Directors

1. Foundation of S. Chandrasekar Prize

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar (1910-1995) was an Indian-American astrophysicist who was awarded the 1983 Nobel Prize for physics for his theory of black hole. He worked in various areas including plasma physics. Plasma physics community is benefited from his works through his textbooks such as "Principles of stelar dynamics (1942)", "Plasma Physics (1975)", "Hydrodynamics and Hydromagnetic stability (1981)".

In 2014, we have established the Division of Plasma Physics under AAPPS. Asia-Pacific region is rapidly growing economically and scientifically. A large number of new programs on various fundamental and applied aspects of plasma physics are emerging in several countries of Asia and the Pacific regions. Young people taking up careers in plasma science in these regions look forward to the prestige of recognition by their peers and this becomes more equitable when



S. Chandrasellia

your peers are intimately familiar with your work. This will also give a "sense of accomplishment" to the Asia-Pacific region as a whole because the body of significant work already pioneered by the Awardees will be ascribed to this region. The executive committee of division of plasma physics after consultation to I-HAC (International Honorary Advisory Committee) decided to establish Plasma Physics Prize after S. Chandrasekar to recognize seminal/pioneering works in this field.

2. Description of the S. Chandrasekar Prize

The Chandrasekhar Prize is awarded by the Division of Plasma Physics of the AAPPS to recognize outstanding contributions to experimental and/or theoretical research in fundamental plasma physics and plasma applications in all fields of physics.

- i) **Rule**: This Prize will be given to an AAPPS-DPP member who has made seminal / pioneering contribution to any field of plasma physics or plasma applications as stated above.
- ii) **Nomination**: Necessary documents and time schedule for nomination will be announced in the DPP home page. DPP seeks outstanding nominations worldwide and especially from the Asia-Pacific region.
- iii) **Selection**: Selection will be made by the Chandrasekhar Prize Selection Committee annually.
- iv) **Selection Committee**: DPP chair, Chair-elect and CEO will appoint Chair and members of selection committee.
- v) **Award Ceremony**: Certificate, Medal and a cash award will be bestowed to the awardees at the AAPPS-DPP annual conference.
- vi) **Obligations**: Chandrasekhar awardees should deliver invited talks in the AAPPS-DPP conference as well as contribute review papers to the DPP journal.