

Aug. 24, 2021

Association of Asia-Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS)
Division of Plasma Physics (AAPPS-DPP)

# AAPPS-DPP Young Researcher (U40) Award and U30 Doctoral Scientist / Student Award

The Division of Plasma Physics (CEO: Mitsuru Kikuchi, Chair: Baonian Wan) under the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (President: Jun'ichi Yokoyama) selected 7 scientists under 40 for **AAPPS-DPP Young Researcher** (**U40**) **Award and 6 scientists under 30 for** U30 Doctoral Scientist / Student Award.

Sub-discipline in plasma physics, names, affiliations, home country/region are as follows.

#### AAPPS-DPP Young Researcher (U40) Award winners:

1.	Fundamental plasma physics: Dr. Hiroshi Tanabe, The University of Tokyo,		
2.	Basic plasma physics	: Dr. Mingu Yoo, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory,	Korea
3.	Applied plasma physics	: Dr. Sanghoo Park, Korean Institute of Fusion Energy,	Korea
4.	Laser plasma physics	: Dr. Tong-Pu Yu, National University of Defense Technology,	China
5.	Space plasma physics	: Dr. Meng Zhou, Nanchang University,	China
6.	Solar and Astrophysics	: Dr. Xin Cheng, Nanjing University,	China
7.	Magnetic Fusion plasma ph	ysics: Dr. Siye Ding, Institute of plasma physics,	China

#### **AAPPS-DPP U30 Doctoral Scientist / Student Award winners:**

1.	Fundamental plasma physics	: Dr. Riddhi Bandyopadhyay, Princeton University,	India
2.	Laser plasma physics	: Dr. Kento Katagiri, Osaka University,	Japan
3.	Space plasma physics	: Dr. Honghong Wu, Peking University,	China
4.	Solar/Space plasma physics	: Dr. Munehito Shoda, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan,	Japan
5.	Magnetic Fusion plasma phy	sics: Dr. Guanqi Dong, Southwestern Institute of Physics,	China
6.	Magnetic Fusion plasma phy	sics: Dr. Sang Kyeun Kim, Seoul National University.	Korea

Certificate, plate and cash prize will be given at the 5th Asia-Pacific Conference on Plasma Physics in Sept 27, 2021

#### **Contact points:**

AAPPS-DPP Representative Director and CEO, Mitsuru Kikuchi (AAPPS-DPP Association Inc.)

TEL: +81-80-115-3482, E-mail: <u>aapps.dpp.ceo@gmail.com</u>

AAPPS-DPP Executive Officer, Haruo Nagai TEL: 080-1096-4575

AAPPS-DPP Homepage Address: <a href="http://aappsdpp.org/AAPPSDPPF/index.html">http://aappsdpp.org/AAPPSDPPF/index.html</a>

### Press Release



# AAPPS-DPP Young Researcher (U40) Award

AAPPS-DPP recognizes young research scientists who made a significant research contribution(s) to plasma physics at AAPPS affiliation not more than 40 by AAPPS-DPP young researcher award since 2016. U40 award is partially sponsored by YU-KWAI(https://yu-kwai.jp/). Past recipients (2016-2020) can be found at http://aappsdpp.org/AAPPSDPPF/youngawardtable.html

U40 Winner	Affiliation	Citation
Hiroshi Tanabe	The University of Tokyo	For his unique experimental contribution to advanced imaging diagnostics, laboratory experiments of magnetic reconnection and their applications for fusion plasma heating.
Min-Gu Yoo	Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory	For his pioneering work in discovering the fundamental mechanisms of ohmic breakdown phenomena in tokamaks by considering the self-induced electric field, which has profound practical implications for the design strategy of plasma start-up scenarios for future tokamaks such as ITER and beyond.
Sanghoo Park	Korean Institute of Fusion Energy	For his excellent work on weakly-ionized plasma science, particularly on the basic physics of the electrohydrodynamic (EHD) flow naturally produced in weakly-ionized collisional plasmas, and its stabilizing effect on plasma-liquid interface.
Tong-Pu Yu	National University of Defense Technology	For his outstanding achievements in exploring physics in extremely intense laser-plasma interactions for novel applications e.g., brilliant X/gamma radiation, QED plasma generation, and particle acceleration.
Meng Zhou	Nanchang University	For his significant contribution to the understanding of the role of plasma waves in magnetic reconnection process, electron-scale physics in coalescing magnetic flux ropes, kinetic properties of dipolarization fronts, and magnetospheric substorms
Xin Cheng	Nanjing University	For his significant contribution to the understanding of the origin and early evolution of solar coronal mass ejections, turbulent magnetic reconnection in flaring current sheets, and space weather physics
Siye Ding	Institute of plasma physics, CAS	For his fundamental contributions to the understanding and experimental development of advanced tokamak scenarios towards a steady state fusion reactor, and for elucidating, through integrated simulations, the synergism between internal transport barrier and divertor detachment in the high poloidal beta plasmas.

2021 U40 Selection committee:

Chairman: Prof. Taik Soo Hahm (Seoul National University) Members: Prof. Yasuhiko Sentoku(Osaka University)

Prof. Fred Skiff (University of Iowa)

Prof. Hartmut Zohm (Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics)

Prof. Jiajun Shi (Donghua University)

# Press Release



Prof. Gurbax Lakhina (Indian Institute of Geomagnetism)

#### **AAPPS-DPP U30 Doctoral Scientist / Student Award**

AAPPS-DPP recognizes exceptional U30 (under 30 years old) scientists/ students who have performed original work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of plasma physics with current institution or nationality is required to be in the AAPPS region since 2018 sponsored by IFE Forum. Past recipients (2018-2020) can be found at http://aappsdpp.org/AAPPSDPPF/U30awardtable.html

U30 Winner	Affiliation	Citation
Riddhi Bandyopadhyay	Princeton University	For his significant contribution on the finite dissipation in anisotropic magnetohydrodynamic turbulence
Kento Katagiri	Osaka University	For his contribution on understanding warm dense matter by the work on shock response of full density nano-polycrystalline diamond
Honghong Wu	Peking University	For the significant contribution on plasma physics by discovering low-frequency sweeping process in the slow solar wind with the measurement of Parker Solar Probe
Munehito Shoda	NAOJ	For his significant contribution on the role of the Alfven wave turbulence for the acceleration and heating of the fast solar wind
Guanqi Dong	Southwestern Institute of Physics	For his significant contribution for the deep physics understanding of the critical element toward the ELM-free H-mode operations of tokamak
Sang Kyeun Kim	Princeton University	For the Improvement of a non-linear 3D MHD code and the applications to the KSTAR tokamak experiments on the 3D field and non-linear MHD mode coupling.

2021 U30 Selection committee:

Chairman: Em. Prof. Kunioki Mima (Osaka University)

Members: Prof. Arnab Rai Choudhuri (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore)

Prof. Zheng Ming Sheng (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

Prof. Yongkyoon In (UNIST)

Prof. Hantao Ji (Princeton University) Prof. Yasuaki Kishimoto (Kyoto University)