Terms of Reference of International Honorary Advisory Committee (I-HAC)

2025.2.08 AAPPS-DPP BoD

1. Background

Division of Plasma Physics (DPP) was founded in 2014 as a voluntary organization along with the establishments of Executive Committee (ExCo) and International Honorary Advisory Committee (I-HAC). The responsibility of I-HAC then was to provide, when requested, advices to ExCo on issues of DPP operations. For examples, ExCo set charges to I-HAC on 1) Foundation of S. Chandrasekhar Prize (2014), 2) Foundation of AAPPS-DPP journal "Reviews of Modern Plasma Physics (RMPP)" (2016). Based on positive I-HAC recommendations, DPP started S. Chandrasekhar Prize as annual prize from 2014, and RMPP has been published by Springer since 2017.

Since 2019, DPP changed its legal status to General Incorporated Association registered at Ministry of Justice in Japan in order to handle budget matters.

Here, we set terms of reference of I-HAC as a standing committee based on Article 4 (4) and Article 30 (1) of our society (Articles of Incorporation of AAPPS-DPP at https://www.aappsdpp.org/DPPhoujin/teikan.html).

2. Terms of reference of I-HAC

Article 1:Name

This committee is called International Honorary Advisory Committee or I-HAC in short.

Article 2:Composition of I-HAC

I-HAC is composed of a chair, a vice chair and members, who are distinguished senior scientists in various sub-disciplines of plasma physics in the AAPPS region, as well as representatives from APS and EPS region. I-HAC chair, vice chair and members are appointed by DPP chair and CEO upon approval by BoD.

Article 3: Call for I-HAC and its operation

This committee is a standing committee functioning as advisory body on important matters as requested by the Board of Directors of AAPPS-DPP. Charges to the I-HAC will be issued by DPP chair and CEO based on the BoD decision.

I-HAC chair will chair the I-HAC meeting and provide recommendations to BoD as requested.