

Sept. 12, 2022 Association of Asia-Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS) Division of Plasma Physics (AAPPS-DPP)

AAPPS-DPP Young Researcher (U40) Award and U30 Doctoral Scientist / Student Award

The Division of Plasma Physics (CEO: Mitsuru Kikuchi, Chair: Baonian Wan) under the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (President: Jun'ichi Yokoyama) selected 8 scientists under 40 for AAPPS-DPP Young Researcher (U40) Award and 6 scientists under 30 for U30 Doctoral Scientist / Student Award.

Sub-discipline in plasma physics, names, affiliations, home country/region are as follows.

AAPPS-DPP Young Researcher (U40) Award winners:

1.	Fundamental plasma physics	s : Dr. Yohei Kawazura, Tohoku University	Japan				
2.	Basic plasma physics	: Dr. Swarniv Chandra, Gov. General Degree College, Kushmandi	India				
3.	Applied plasma physics	: Dr. Bhagirath Ghimire, University of Alabama,	Nepal				
4.	Laser plasma physics	: Dr. Liangliang Ji, SIOM,	China				
5.	Space plasma physics	: Dr. Xuzhi Zhou, Peking University,					
6.	Solar plasma physics	: Dr. Yang Guo, Nanjing University,	China				
7.	Astro plasma physics	: Dr. Xue-Ning Bai, Tsinghua University,	China				
8.	Magnetic Fusion plasma physics : Dr. Kunihiro Ogawa, National Institute of Fusion Science,						
AAPPS-DPP U30 Doctoral Scientist / Student Award winners:							
1.	Basic plasma physics	: Dr. Young Dae Yoon, Pohang Accelerator Laboratory,	Korea				
2.	Laser plasma physics	: Dr. Ke Feng, SIOM,	China				
3.	Laser plasma physics	: Dr. Jie Feng, Shanghai Jiao Tong University,	China				
4.	Space plasma physics	: Dr. Li Li, Peking University,	China				
5.	Solar/Astro plasma physics	: Dr. Kosuke Namekata, NAOJ,	Japan				
6.	Magnetic Fusion plasma physics: Dr. Ting Long, South Western Institute of Physics, C						

Certificate, plate and cash prize will be virtually given at the 6th Asia-Pacific Conference on Plasma Physics in Oct. 10, 2022

Contact points :

AAPPS-DPP Representative Director and CEO, Mitsuru Kikuchi (AAPPS-DPP Association Inc.) TEL: +81-80-115-3482, E-mail: <u>aapps.dpp.ceo@gmail.com</u>

AAPPS-DPP Homepage Address : http://aappsdpp.org/AAPPSDPPF/index.html



Press Release

AAPPS-DPP Young Researcher (U40) Award

AAPPS-DPP recognizes young research scientists who made a significant research contribution(s) to plasma physics at AAPPS affiliation not more than 40 by AAPPS-DPP young researcher award since 2016. Past recipients (2016-2020) can be found at <u>http://aappsdpp.org/AAPPSDPPF/youngawardtable.html</u>

This year(2022), 30 candidates are nominated from various Asia-Pacific Region, who published papers in famous journals. Selection committee are formed by members from India, China, Australia, Japan, Taiwan, US, Europe and selected 8 winners by rigorous evaluation.

U40 Winner	Field, Name and Affiliation	Citation
	[Fundamental] Yohei Kawazura Tohoku University	For his theoretical and computational contributions via gyro-kinetics and reduced magnetohydrodynamics to the understanding of turbulence in accretion flows
	[Basic] Swarniv Chandra Government General Degree College at Kushmandi	For his pioneering and excellent work in quantum plasmas and in the development of simulation techniques that are helpful in studying interactions of plasma waves and evolution of field quantities in ultrashort duration plasmas.
	[Applied] Bhagirath Ghimire University of Alabama	For his outstanding contributions towards understanding the mechanisms of how cold plasma devices produce therapeutically important molecules for disease treatment and in utilizing this knowledge to improve their efficiency and safety in medicine.
(te a)	[Laser] Liangliang Ji SIOM	For his outstanding contributions to the laser-plasma physics at extremely high laser intensity for laser-driven particle acceleration and strong-field quantum-electrodynamics (QED) physics
	[Space/Geomagnetism] Xuzhi Zhou Peking University	For his remarkable contributions towards our understanding of the hydromagnetic wave-particle resonance in the magnetosphere, the impulsive particle acceleration in reconnection outflow flux fronts, and the cross-scale eletro-magnetic structures in space plasmas.
	[Solar] Yang Guo Nanjing University	For his significant contributions in determining the magnetic morphology and magnetic helicity of the pre-eruption structure in the solar corona.
	[Astro] Xue-Ning Bai Tsinghua University	For his series of works that drive a paradigm shift in understanding the gas dynamics of weakly ionized protoplanetary disks, and for his development of the novel MHD-PIC method that enabled accurate simulations of the cosmic-ray streaming instability and first-principle characterization of the transport coefficients of low-energy cosmic-rays.
	[Magnetic Fusion] Kunihiro Ogawa NIFS	For his significant contribution to development of diagnostic systems for fusion products such as neutrons and tritons, demonstration of MeV ion confinement and visualization of beam ion profiles and transport due to MHD instabilities toward understanding fusion burning plasmas.

2022 U40 Selection committee:

Chairman: Prof. Abhijit Sen (Institute for Plasma Research, IN)

Members: Prof. Gurbax Lakhina (Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, IN)

- Prof. Fulvio Zonca (ENEA, Zhejiang University, IT)
 - Prof. Matthew Hole (Australian National University, AU)
 - Prof. Yasuhiko Sentoku(Osaka University, JP)
 - Prof. Ding Li (IOP-CAS, CN)

Prof. Kazunori Koga (Kyushu University, JP)

Prof. Shih-Hung Chen (National Central University, TW)

Prof. Peter Yoon (University of Maryland, US)



Press Release

AAPPS-DPP U30 Doctoral Scientist / Student Award

AAPPS-DPP recognizes exceptional U30 (under 30 years old) scientists/ students who have performed original work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of plasma physics with current institution or nationality is required to be in the AAPPS region since 2018 sponsored by IFE Forum. Past recipients (2018-2021) can be found at http://aappsdpp.org/AAPPSDPPF/U30awardtable.html

U30 Winner	Field, Name, Affiliation	Citation
	[Basic] Young Dae Yoon Pohang Accelerator Laboratory	For the significant contribution on physics of collision-less relaxation of current sheet
	[Laser] Ke Feng SIOM	For the significant contribution on the development of X-FEL based upon laser wake field accelerator
	[Laser] Jie Feng Shanghai Jiao Tong University	For the significant contribution on nuclear physics based upon ultra-intense laser plasmas
	[Space & Geomagnetism] Li Li Peking University	For the significant contribution on physics of magnetospheric nonlinear wave phenomena
	[Solar&Astro] Kosuke Namekata NAOJ	For the significant contribution on detection of super-flare and filament eruption of a solar-type star
	[Magnetic Fusion] Ting Long SWIP	For the significant contribution on physics of particle-transport-physics near the density limit of tokamak plasmas

2021 U30 Selection committee:

Chairman: Em. Prof. Kunioki Mima (Osaka University, JP)

Members: Prof. Hantao Ji (Princeton University, US)

Prof. Ravindra G. Kumar (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, IN)

Prof. Tomo-Hiko Watanabe (Nagoya University, JP)

Prof. Yongkyoon In (UNIST, KR)

Prof. Fei Lu Wang (NAO-CAS, CN)