Basic Structure of Scientific Program
Conference will run from Monday (12 Nov.) to Saturday (17 Nov.). Morning sessions will be plenary session (no parallel session) in principle which may include ~42 plenaries (30 minutes). There will be 2018 S. Chandrasekhar Prize selection before the conference and the winner will be the first plenary speaker. Afternoon session will be dedicated for parallel sessions. Number of invited speakers (25 minutes) is ~ 216 of above 8 fields. Number of orals (15 minutes) will be ~108. Poster session will be strengthened based on comments on AAPPS-DPP 2017 to have poster prizes for students and full participants. Posters up to 300 are welcomed. 
Tentative Schedule Plan

Invited Speakers List 
 Plenary Speakers 
Prof. Steven Tobias
Department of Applied Mathematics, University of Leeds

“Flux expulsion and Dynamos “


Prof. Shigeo Yoden
Graduate school of science, Kyoto University

“Hierarchy of numerical model simulations on the equatorial QBO-like oscillations in the stratosphere-troposphere coupled system”


Prof. Chijie Xiao
Peking University  

“Three-dimensional magnetic reconnection: laboratory experiments and in situ measurements in the magnetosphere”

Prof. Daniel Lathrop
Department of physics, University of Maryland
"Reconnection and helicity of vortices in quantum fluids and the plasma connection”

Prof. Michio Yamada
Research Institute for Mathematical Science, Kyoto University

“Zonal Flows in Rotating Fluids: phenomenological interest and theoretical problems”

Prof. F. Zonca
ENEA & Visiting Professor, Zhejiang University

“On the nonlinear dynamics of phase space zonal structure”

Prof. Katsumi Ida
National Institute for Fusion Science (NIFS)

“Bifurcation phenomena in magnetic confinement”

Prof. Yi-Kang Pu
Department of Engineering Physics, Tsinghua University

“The influence of electrode surface condition on the discharge properties in a capacitively coupled plasma”  

Prof. A.A. Mamun
Department of physics, Jahangirnagar University

“Solitary and Shock Waves in Dusty Plasmas, and some open issues”

Prof. Yasushi Todo
National Institute of Fusion Science, NINS
"Energetic particle physics in fusion plasmas through computer simulation

Prof. Kwo Ray Chu
National Taiwan University,

“A study of inherent causes for non-uniform microwave heating” 

Prof. Chao Chang
College of electronic and information enjineering, Xi’an Jiaotong University

“Nanosecond Intense Microwave Plasma and Electromagnetic Undulator for FEL” 

Prof. Masaru Hori
Department of Electronic and Electric Engineering, Nagoya University

“Challenge to the systematization of the biological interaction by plasmas” 

Prof. Ken Ostrikov
Science and Engineering Faculty, Queensland University of Technology

“Shrinking the plasma: why not use pores?” 

Dr. Ho Jun Kim

SAMSUNG Electronics
"Numerical Simulation of Semiconductor Fabrication System"

Prof. Ryosuke Kodama
Institute of Laser Engineering, Osaka University

“High Energy Density science with high power lasers in Japan”

Prof. G. Ravindra Kumar
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

“Relativistic electron physics in ultrahigh intensity laser plasma interactions” 

Prof. Bjorn Manuel Hegelich
Center for Relativistic Laser Science, Institute for Basic Science

“Relativistic Quantum Photonics – fundamental science and applied engineering with ultrahigh intensity lasers”

Prof. Xian-Tu He
Institute of Applied Physics and Computational Mathematics

“Design and experimental progress of hybrid- drive ICF ignition on SG-III laser facility

Prof. James F. Drake
Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics, University of Maryland

“Magnetic reconnection in space plasmas (tentative)

Dr. Gurudas Ganguli
Naval Research Laboratory

“Use of Laboratory Experiments to Understand Space Phenomena”

Prof. Daniel Baker
Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics, University of Colorado

“Overview of interaction of particles and waves in magnetosphere by observations and simulations”

Prof. Fouad Sahraoui
University Pierre & Marie Curie (UPMC)

“Kinetic scale turbulence in space plasmas”

Prof. Kazuo Makishima
The University of Tokyo

“Physics of the largest-scale hot plasmas in the Universe” 

Prof. Xueng Bai
Institute for advanced study, Tsinghua University

“ Gas Dynamics of Weakly Ionized Protoplanetary Disks and Implications for Planet Formation” 

Prof. Masahiro Hoshino
The University of Tokyo

“Particle acceleration in plasma universe”

Prof. Peter H. Yoon
University of Maryland

“Dynamic role of kinetic plasma processes in the solar wind


Dr. Yunfeng Liang
Institute of plasma physics, CAS

“Control of Edge-Localized Mode in Magnetically Confined Fusion Plasmas” 

Dr. Yong Kyoon In
National Fusion Research Institute(NFRI)

“Critically resolved non-axisymmetric field physics in KSTAR”

Dr. Wulyu Zhong
Southwestern Institute of Physics

“On turbulence and multi-scale interactions in low and high confinement plasmas of the HL-2A tokamak”


Prof. Tonny Donne

“Strategy and challenges of the revised European Fusion Roadmap” 

Dr. Naoyuki Oyama

“Progress in preparing research plan and construction of JT-60SA”


  Division of Plasma Physics(AAPPS-DPP) 
 Association of Asia-Pacific Physical Societies
  copyright©2018 AAPPS-DPP all right reserved